Brandneu# “Tammi Terrell – Come On And See Me: The Complete Solo Collection”

Liebe Freude der Soulmusic,

am Tag genau ein Jahr bevor ich geboren wurde, starb Tammie Terrell viel zu früh. Es war der 16. März 1970. Mit 15 begann sie bereits mit Auftritten, reiste im Gefolge der James Brown-Revue ein Jahr mit einem der härtesten Hunde des Soulgeschäfts und heiratete 1965 den Schwergewichts-Boxer Ernie Terrell. Im selben Jahr begann Tammi für Motown aufzunehmen. Erste Erfolge stellten sich ein, darunter auch ihre traumwandlerisch schöne Version von “This old heart of mine” von den Isley Brothers.

Der große Durchbruch folgte schließlich, als sie Kim Weston als Marvin Gayes Duettpartnerin ersetzte. Songs wie “Your precious love”, “Good lovin’ aint easy”, “Ain’t no mountain high enough” oder “You’re all I need to get by” strahlten eine Magie voller Romantik und Erotik aus und bescherte dem Motowndreamteam wischen 1967 und ’69 reihenweise Charterfolge. Doch die Partnerschaft stand unter keinem guten Stern, denn Terrell erkrankte bereits 1967  schwer, konnte ab 1969 nicht mehr öffentlich auftreten und starb unter tragischen Umständen 1970.


Das US-Label Hipo-Select hat Tammie Terrell nun eine Werkschau gewidmet, die sich sehen lassen kann und von Fans auch rechtzeitig gesichert werden sollten, denn die Auflage ist mit 5000 Stück limitiert.

Tammi Terrell

Tammi Terrell, the lovely ingénue who became best known as Marvin Gaye’s duet partner, the female voice in the Motown classics “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough,” “Your Precious Love” and more, also had a budding solo career – one cut tragically cut short by her premature death at age 24.

In 2010, as we mark the 40th anniversary of Tammi’s death and celebrate what would have been her 65th birthday, the singular person behind those immortal duets is being rediscovered. Come On And See Me: The Complete Solo Collection brings together for the first time all of Tammi’s solo recordings, from her earliest releases for Scepter/Wand, when she was still in high school, to her brief time with James Brown, her stint with Checker/Chess and, finally, her blossoming at Motown. That’s a total of 50 tracks on 2 CDs: every single, B-side, album track and stray cut from posthumous releases – plus an amazing treasure trove of newly discovered tracks: 10 unreleased recordings direct from the Chess and Motown vaults, including Tammi’s only known live recordings. And 11 songs previously available in mono are presented in brand new stereo mixes; most of those are extended as well.

Two of the unreleased tracks aren’t strictly solo: we found a duet version of Tammi’s otherwise solo Chess single, “If I Would Marry You,” in which she is paired with triple-threat Jimmy Radcliffe, more than three years before she worked with Marvin Gaye; and “Kissing In The Shadows,” a never-before-heard Motown track in which she is supported vocally by producer Johnny Bristol.

Additional unreleased tracks include two Chess recordings co-written by Radcliffe – “I Can’t Hold It In Any More,” a bluesy cover of an Etta James B-side, and “I’ve Got Nothing To Say But Goodbye.” On the Motown side, there are two previously unheard Ashford & Simpson compositions and productions, “Beware Of A Stranger” and “It’s Been A Long Time Happenin’.” Then there is the live set.

Tammi Terrell was, in September 1966, a 21-year-old rising star at Motown with two minor hit singles; her duets with Marvin Gaye were not yet a notion. She was tapped to open for Smokey Robinson & the Miracles at one of the company’s “Motown Mondays” performances at Detroit’s swanky Roostertail nightclub, the same venue where the Four Tops’ and the Temptations’ live albums were recorded. In a stirring 13-minute set, Tammi showcased her versatility, performing spirited versions of her two solo singles and a smartly arranged medley in which she sang snippets of songs associated with her favorite singers: Dinah Washington, Aretha Franklin, Nancy Wilson and the Supremes. It’s the only live recording of Tammi anywhere.

This unprecedented collection also features a beautiful booklet with rare photos, detailed annotations and an essay by Princeton professor Daphne Brooks.


Disc 1 Preview

1.  If You See Bill
2.  It’s Mine
3.   Voice Of Experience
4.   I Wancha’ To Be Sure
5.   Sinner’s Devotion
7.   Big John
8.   I Cried
9.   If You Don’t Think
10. If I Would Marry You*
11. This Time Tomorrow*
12. I’ve Got Nothing To Say But Goodbye**
13. I Can’t Hold It In Any More**
14. If I Would Marry You duet with Jimmy Radcliffe**
15. I Can’t Believe You Love Me
16. That’s What Boys Are Made For
17. Come On And See Me
18. What A Good Man He Is
19. Tears At The End Of A Love Affair
20. This Old Heart Of Mine (Is Weak For You)
21. He’s The One I Love
22. Can’t Stop Now (Love Is Calling)
23. Just Too Much To Hope For
24. Hold Me Oh My Darling
25. I Can’t Go On Without You
26. Baby Don’tcha Worry
27. There Are Things

Disc 2 Preview

1.   Ain’t No Mountain High Enough
2.   All I Do Is Think About You
3.   Slow Down
4.   I Gotta Find A Way (To Get You Back)
5.   Oh How I’d Miss You
6.   Lone Lonely Town
7.   You Ain’t Livin’ ’Till You’re Lovin’*
8.   Give In You Just Can’t Win*
9.   When Love Comes Knocking At My Heart*
10. Memory Chest*
11. That’s How It Is (Since You’ve Been Gone)*
12. More, More, More*
13. Two Can Have A Party*
14. My Heart*
15. Don’t Let Me Be Lonely*
16. Kissing In The Shadows**
17. Beware Of A Stranger**
18. It’s Been A Long Time Happenin’**
19. Almost Like Being In Love (Live)**
20. Stage dialogue with emcee Scott Regan**
21. I Can’t Believe You Love Me (Live)**
22. Medley: What A Difference A Day Makes/Runnin’ Out Of Fools/Tell Me The Truth/Baby Love (Live)**
23. Come On And See Me (Live)**

Disc 1, tracks 10-14 and Disc 2, tracks 6-23

**Previously unreleased/*Previously unreleased stereo version


Hinterlasse eine Antwort